One of Nature’s Mysteries To Solve

Hey there!

Nutmeg says maybe this mystery should be ‘why did the humans put a nail in the tree?’ but I didn’t notice that until I was posting. The real question I’m asking for this week’s mystery is, can you recognize a common tree by its bark?

Mystery #123

Hint: it is a tree native to Eastern North America. Give me your name guesses in the comments!

~~~

Well, folks, this one is pretty common:

Flowering Dogwood

Flowering Dogwood, Cornus florida. Isn’t it amazing a tree that stands out so well with its distinct flowers and interesting upturned twigs is overlooked when it comes to bark?

Have another look at the Dogwood nearest you!

2 thoughts on “One of Nature’s Mysteries To Solve

  1. I’m embarrassed to admit that I have no clue. Trees often elude me except in the most obvious cases. I did learn something surprising yesterday. Some folks, for whatever reason, don’t like the sight of lichen on their tree bark. I think it looks great while this nail makes me sort of sad. 😦 I look forward to the answer!

Drop us a nut to find!

