L is for Ladybird Bettle

Or Ladybug, if you prefer the short name.

Ladybug

This friendly little insect is truly a beetle. It has two hard outer coverings–the red parts–that cover the wings. The name for the beetle group describes this rather nicely: Coleoptera. It’s from Greek words koleos–sheath– and pteron–wing. That’s sheathed wings, and if you look carefully when one takes off, that’s exactly what you’ll see! Kind of appropriate, when you also know this little warrior goes after other insects.

11 thoughts on “L is for Ladybird Bettle

  1. For some reason, Ladybugs are one of the few bugs that I’m scared of….I have no idea why. Mom said it was because of a summer when I was a kid when there were tons…orange Ladybugs (European or Japanese beetles or something like that) and I got bit pretty bad. Ladybugs are harmless, right?

  2. Years ago I had a few houseplants I’d take outside for the summer and bring back in for the cold. My son, who was 12 then, made an announcement in the spring one year: he had lady bugs all over his one window, where one of the plants was sitting. They had hatched out and there were probably 25 of them. We opened the window and sent them all outside. They are good bugs, but we don’t want them inside, lol.

  3. I have had to do a lot of catch and release from my house this spring. I think they must overwinter in hidden crevices within and wake to the sunshine pouring in. Amusingly, the perfect tool to capture most of them harmlessly turned out to be a snack pack cookie container my partner bought (and emptied ~grin~).

    What could have bitten Daleen, I wonder? Oh, and my Darla M. Sands blog is number 1281 on the A to Z list today. Best wishes!

Drop us a nut to find!

