One Of Nature’s Mysteries to Solve

Hey There!

Long time no see! We are on our winter break, but because Northern Virginia has seen little snow so far, I want to poke this in for a substitute.

Mystery #110

What is it?

Give me your guesses and I’ll check back later.

~~~

I don’t suppose this one is too much of a mystery since we featured Common Milkweed, Asclepias syriaca, several times this summer. See the posts here and here. These are the seeds, now escaping from their pods, dry and fluffing out.

Common Milkweed Seedpod

It’s just such a great native plant!

Common Milkweed

This stand of the wildflowers gone to seed was along a suburban street near us–lots of sun and in a place humans can easily see it. Street flowers.

street flowers

Hope your fall to winter transition is going well!

4 thoughts on “One Of Nature’s Mysteries to Solve

  1. I’m trying to find out what this is myself. It’s in my backyard in Virginia right now. The pods haven’t opened yet, I pulled one open myself. It’s a really amazing work of God’s art. Want to know what it is!

    • Hope you checked our answer, Anon–it’s a Common Milkweed. There are many other milkweed species–Swamp Milkweed and Butterfly Weed–so try searching online with your pod and the leaves of the plant to learn exactly which one you may have.

Drop us a nut to find!

