One of Nature’s Mysteries to Solve

Hey There!

Like last week, we are giving you another…little bulbous, thingy… Hmm, I have to be careful not to talk too much.

Mystery #73

I’ll be back for your guesses later, but while you’re thinking, we have had a brief note from Coney:

Howdy Squirrel Nutwork friends:

My Ponderosa Pine is still standing, but now much closer to the creek that is much wider than it was. I have been busy looking for a new home, which most other squirrels in the Jamestown area are doing as well. I’ll let you know when I resettle. I believe the humans here are doing the same kind of reconnaissance.

I will write more when I can, and send photos. In the meantime, here is a video I found showing the devastation to our mountain valley home. I understand it’s like this all over the Front Range.

Stay safe!

Coney, your Colorado Field Correspondent

Nutmeg and I had a look, and all I can say is, wow. Our best wishes to all the residents, human and wildlife, affected by this terrible flooding.

~~~

So this ‘thingy’ is a rose hip, the fruit that develops around the seeds of roses. All kinds of roses have them, wild and ornamental. They just come in different shapes and sizes—and tastes. This is something that humans eat, though we at The Squirrel Nutwork are NOT suggesting you eat them. Please check your edibles out before consuming anything wild.

Rose with a hip forming

Check close and you’ll see the hips form even before the flower is done blooming!

One thought on “One of Nature’s Mysteries to Solve

Drop us a nut to find!

