Thirsty Thursday

Ol’ Wally here takes things real slow come summertime. I often meander over to the closest pond to get a drink. On a visit this week, I met up with a ‘frog’ who did not hop into the water at my approach.

American Toad

Yep, this here is an American Toad. Though he started out in the water as a tadpole like the bullfrogs who have practically taken over this backyard pond, he doesn’t like deep water. He stared at me and I stared at him, and then I left. I’d rather he stuck around so we can have some amphibian diversity in our backyards.

Drop us a nut to find!

