Tree Tuesday: Loblolly Pine

Lob here. Forgot to post my photo yesterday. I’m the handsome gray fellow below.Lob, the Delmarva Peninsula Fox Squirrel

If yesterday on The Squirrel Nutwork was Motionless Monday, can today be Tree Tuesday? Because like Hickory, I’m named for a tree—the Loblolly Pine, Pinus taeda.

After being invited to write for this blog, as what Hickory called a Field Correspondent, I did some poking around. These inland squirrels prize native plants real highly, so I’m proud to point out, Loblolly Pine is a native tree, to Virginia and most of the southern US. It’s not too picky about where it lives, sandy soil and clay soil will do, which is probably why it’s the second most common tree in the United States.

Loblolly Pine

Here’s a close up of the needles that grow in three-needle bundles.

Loblolly Pine needles

The Loblolly grows fast, tall and, best of all, produces a lot of cones, which contain its pine nuts.

Loblolly Pine cones

Unfortunately, I don’t think many humans take advantage of this. Or maybe they can’t eat what squirrels do.

eating pine nuts

Anyway, I hear tell that most Loblolly Pines get cut for lumber.

The thought makes me shiver. Loblolly Pines are my life! Yes, fox squirrels like a nice big oak, but out here on the Delmarva Peninsula, the Loblolly is home and food.

Drop us a nut to find!

