Loud snow

A brief snowfall here yesterday was loud. When I poked my nose outside my leaf nest, the pounding on the dry leaves confused me, until I realized the snow was mixed with sleet.

ice pellets, mixed with snow

It sounded like hail, which led me to look up why this wasn’t hail. Sleet, or ice pellets, are small and translucent. Hail has to be 5 millimeters of bigger. Considering I couldn’t get my camera to focus on these bits, I decided they were ice pellets without measuring.

Drop us a nut to find!

