Black Locust

Leaves aren’t the only things that have come down this fall. The surrounding forests lost a few trees in the October storm. Hickory and I leaped across two of them that didn’t toss much dirt as one fell against the next.

fallen Black Locust

“A Black Locust,” he told me. “What old beauts these were.”

“Humph, they don’t look very big to me. Leaving out that Metasequoia, of course—”

“Of course,” he said with a squirrely flip of his tail.

Sheesh, the guy has gotten quite uppity about trees since he moved his leaf nest. I ignored him, like usual. “These trees aren’t as big around as some oaks, or even that Black Gum we took note of earlier this fall.”

“But they’re big for a locust. The species grows fast and spreads by shallow roots. See, this is a whole line of them here. Their wood is strong, but these must have gotten unbalanced.”

We leapt to the cut trunk. “It split by itself,” I said.

split Black Locust

He chattered a laugh. “Would you look at that? It looks just like a fence post.” I didn’t think any more about it until I got home to prepare my blog post and discovered humans did use Black Locust for fence posts because they’re slow to rot.

Huh. I’m going to have to do some studying to keep up with Hickory in the tree department.

2 thoughts on “Black Locust

    • Thanks, Psquirrel! I think we may have a little competition arising. Miz Flora is quite the squirrel to look up to for what she calls ‘nature-doings.’

      Glad you leapt by!
      Nutmeg

Drop us a nut to find!

