Burning Bush

I took a nice long branch to branch trip with Miz Flora, and nearly fell off my limb when her chittering sounded close to…cursing.

What? I looked around and all I saw were some pretty orange bushes below us.

I swallowed hard and asked, “What’s wrong.”

“Burning Bush,” she muttered. “It’s filling this woods to the point nothing else can grow.”

It had. Every spot between tree trunks in this small woodlot had an orange bush in it. “So… invasive?” I asked.

She shot me a look. “You think?”

Whoa, she was mad. But the older squirrel immediately wrung her paws. “Sorry, Nutmeg. I don’t know what came over me.” She waved her paw. “These plants are so awful, spreading like crazy and not letting anything else grow. Look how tall they get. An animal can’t get through them, they’re so thick, and worse…”

What could be worse?

“They don’t grow anything wildlife can eat. The berries make animals sick.”

And they are spreading—apparently started from this one set of shrubs a neighborhood planted.

Not good. Once I knew what Burning Bush was, I started noticing it everywhere. Now the sight makes me a little queasy.

Drop us a nut to find!

